I Hit the Ground Running

notebook-2386034_1920
Image by hamonazaryan1 from Pixabay 

So it’s been a month since my last post, and I feel like so much has happened since then. I officially quite my full-time corporate marketing job…yikes! It’s weird. I’m still working with them on a contract basis, it’s just…different.

That said, the past month has possibly been my busiest ever in regard to work, and I couldn’t be happier. I really think I just needed a new challenge and some variety to motivate my mind. I’ve been cranking out articles for clients at my fastest pace yet!

While I’ve been incredibly happy, it hasn’t come without some stress. The reality is that even though I switched to freelancing with some clients already on board, the reality is is that I’m only making about 55% of what I was bringing in with my full-time job. I had a prospect call yesterday that sounds very promising, and two more calls tomorrow that should fill in some big gaps.

While this change in income is somewhat scary, I still believe I can make it. I believe our family can make it. I’m not going to let us fail because I took a risk on my dream job. I’ll do whatever it takes so that our family isn’t lacking for anything.

Right now, that just means sticking to a strict budget and making cuts on unnecessary expenses. This has been surprisingly easy for me to do. In all honesty, I think my previous spending habits were a consequence of how bored I was. My mind wasn’t being challenged, so I turned to spending money to buy things to give me some short-lived excitement.

Not to mention the money I am saving by not eating out for lunch. Since I was always in such a hurry to get down to work and exhausted at the end of the day, prepping for lunch happened once in a blue moon. I was spending a lot of money on food every week just for lunch. Now that I’m home, I happily eat leftovers.

Additionally, my wardrobe has changed, so I’m doing less laundry and obviously don’t need to spend any money on clothes to wear to an office. The same with makeup. I’m typically bare faced, which both my skin and wallet love.

I just wanted to pop over here to say hi and that I’m still hanging around. I’ve got several clients that are keeping me busy right now, with more to come. It has been such a load off my back to be able to have flexibility to do my work and get things done around the house, on top of spending a few more days a week with the boys.

We can do hard things. We just need to believe.

Read my latest article about freelancing on Medium.

Follow me on Facebook or Instagram yet? You can stay up to date with what I’m doing on those platforms. 

Published by Kendra

kendraperleywrites.com

Leave a comment