Featured Artist Friday! Nena Lopez

This is something new that I’m starting that’s been on my mind for a while. What was once a creative outlet for me in dealing through the emotions of motherhood, this blog has transitioned to focusing on supporting other artist moms on their journey, whatever that may look like.

Continue to look for featured artist blog posts on Fridays. If you’re an artist mom who would like to be featured on the blog, contact me.

This week is focused on Nena Lopez, a talented artist with multiple interests. Read on to learn more about Nena.

Nena Lopez, in her words.

My name is Lorena, however, my business name is Nena Lopez. I decided on that name for sentimental reasons, my grandmother used to call me Nena as a nickname, she passed away over a year ago now. There isn’t a day that goes by that I don’t think of her. She was always incredibly supportive and had this calming effect over me when I was stressed feeling like the weight of the world was bearing down on me.

I live in Riverside, California. Born and raised. There was a time I was embarrassed to admit I didn’t get out of my hometown now I have come to peace with it. I was judging my success in life by how others lived their life. I wouldn’t have the family I do now if I had left.

I have dabbled in many mediums over the years from polymer clay, acrylic paints, embroidery, jewelry and most recently watercolors. I love creating for the sake of creating. I don’t feel any artist should have to pick and stick with one medium. I still plan on trying my hand at stained glass and oil painting at some point in my life.

I have a full time job that pays the bills, but I will be making the move to freelance artist in the near future. It scares and thrills me. I know it will be trying and I will be working to get things off the ground but I have a very supportive husband and two kids that think I can do anything. My son is 14 years old and I love that he enjoys making things with his hands, and my daughter is about to be 6 in a month.

She has the best time drawing alongside me, her lines are so free and her colors choices are electric. I’ve decided she can be my art mentor since I get very tight in my drawings and worry about my color choices.

I owe the revival of my art self to my husband, although at the time he pushed me to create again he was my boyfriend :). I thought once I became a mother, I didn’t have the right to have my own time and it was selfish of me to even think of taking an hour to draw or paint. It was a difficult time in my life, I was a single mother and I was barely making ends meet. I met my now husband and he kept pushing me to draw and has supported me in all my creative endeavors since then. I would paint on the weekends when my son was with his father and then when my husband and I moved in together he would make it a point to keep my son busy while I had art time.

Recently since I’m pushing to make this a real business I’ve been working on drawing in my downtime after work. If I take the kids outside to play my sketchbook comes with me. I tend to stay up late since it is so peaceful and I draw. Parents understand the preciousness of the bedtime hour.

My son will craft with me if I’m working clay or making miniatures but if I’m drawing my daughter is at my hip or trying to sit in my lap at my art desk as I paint.

I have read article upon article regarding finding your voice as an artist and when I felt I had nothing of value to say with my art it really depressed me.

I think as artists we need to remember that not every piece is going to be about saving the rainforest. It may be a feel-good piece and that’s ok. Art is supposed to incite a reaction in people whose to say the piece you think is garbage is speaking to a person making them recall a cherished memory.

If you guys check out my Instagram account you will see I am all over the place, I don’t want to settle on one theme. I feel like it would inhibit me. If you’d like to see my work please check me out at @Nena_lopezart. I will be opening an Etsy store in the very near future so go on over and give me a follow so that you can be in the know for that exciting development.

Published by Kendra

kendraperleywrites.com

Leave a comment