New Year, New…

So it’s been minute since my last post and now I’m able to come clean as to what’s been occupying my time…

A baby!

Well, a baby in the making.

I am nearing month four of my pregnancy and able to reflect on the glorious time that is the first trimester.

Nausea, fatigue, bloating, and peeing. So much peeing.

Now, obviously, this isn’t my first rodeo. But this time around has been different.

With my son, I had all the typical symptoms, but my nausea only hit mildly around dinner time, and lasted a couple weeks. I was tired, sure, but I had the luxury of napping when I wanted to since I didn’t have a toddler to chase around.

This time, my nausea hit hard around week six, and was a morning to night affair. I actually invested in those anti-nausea Sea Bands and Preggie Pop Drops – something I did not feel compelled to do the last time.

By the time I get home from work in the evenings and have gotten my two year old wrangled into bed, I typically passed out on the floor next to him at 8:30 pm. Add in the fact that my sleep has been disrupted for about three years now since my last pregnancy, this pregnancy has only increased by disruptions (remember, so much peeing).

So it’s been a vicious cycle of going to bed exhausted and waking up still exhausted. On top of that, work has been crazy busy, we’ve been full-swing into the holiday season for well over a month now, and I exhaust myself with a training session at the gym once a week.

Things are looking up, however, as I rounded the corner into the second trimester. I remember feeling so good during this time the last go ’round, so looking forward to the next couple of months.

The nausea has subsided and I am slowly gaining some energy back to where I can do more than pass out on my son’s floor at 8:30 pm.

We’ve decided to let this baby’s gender be a surprise to us all, waiting until the birth to find out. This will be a true triumph of will power if I am able to succeed. I like surprises, yet I also like to know information. And given the fact that I will have about a dozen or so ultrasounds for the remaining of my pregnancy (T1D mom over here), there will be ample opportunity to cave. Wish me the best of luck.

So I’m looking forward to this journey and hopefully sharing some experiences with you.

Best of wishes to everyone in the new year!

Published by Kendra

kendraperleywrites.com

One thought on “New Year, New…

Leave a comment